comment 0

Snap Pea Salad with Shrimp & Rice Noodles

post by molly

Image

I bought snap pea starts at Tilth’s Edible Plant.  I typically use seeds for my vegetables because it’s cheaper and fun to watch the seedlings grown, but I couldn’t resist the idea of eating from my garden as soon as possible.  This is the first time I’ve grown peas, I was always worried about how I would support them.  I ended up using tomato cages turned upside down with peas that grow 3-4 feet.  It’s worked out great and I have a ton of snap peas.  I snack on a handful whenever I walk by.  I’ve sliced them for salads and slaws.  They’re great with mint pesto and pasta.  I’m still enjoying snap peas at this point, though I’m concerned I’ll tire of them soon, so I searched for an interesting way to prepare them and found this Snap Pea Chopped Salad with Thai Vinaigrette at CHOW.  One of the readers suggested turning the salad into a meal with rice noodles and shrimp, so that’s just what I did.

Thai Dressed Snap Pea Salad

Image

For the dressing:
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice
2 teaspoons fish sauce
2 teaspoons Sriracha sauce
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup peanut oil

For the salad:
1 pound sugar snap peas, strings removed and blanched
1 cup julienne cut English cucumber, about 1/3 of a cucumber
1 cup julienne cut carrots, about 2 carrots
1 packed cup cilantro, chopped
2 medium green onions, thinly sliced

Place the dressing ingredients in a jar and shake well.  Combine the salad ingredients in a bowl and dress.

Shrimp and Rice Noodles
1 pound raw shrimp, deveined and thawed if previously frozen
2 teaspoons peanut oil
Salt and pepper
Lime wedge

8 ounces rice noodles or sticks

I skewered the shrimp intending to grill them and couldn’t get the grill to work, even with a new propane can, ugh.  My oven’s broiler did the trick in a couple minutes per side; shrimp will turn pink when they’re done. Prior to cooking, brush shrimp with oil and season with salt and pepper. Squeeze lime over cooked shrimp.

The rice stick package had instructions to soak them in water for a period of time before using in a stir-fry or soup. Instead, I boiled them until soft, about 5 minutes, drained and rinsed in cold water.  I cooked two servings worth and was able to revive the refrigerated portion by running boiling water over them in a colander.

Assemble bowls with noodles, salad and shrimp.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

